Did you ever want to block a user from logging into WordPress? The simplest way to accomplish this is by deleting the user profile. The downside is that will move all content written by this user to another user. You can change a user’s password and email address, but that will change their gravatar. What if we told you that you can block a user without deleting their account? In this article, we will show you how to block an account without deleting the user in WordPress.
If you don’t like the video or need more instructions, then continue reading.
First thing you need to do is install and activate the Account Locker Lite plugin. Upon activation, simply edit the user you want to block.
At the bottom of the user profile, you will see the account lock status section.
You need to choose Locked from the Account Status drop down menu and click on update user.
This will effectively block the user from logging into your site without removing their account or transferring their posts. Blocked users will NOT be able to reset passwords and regain access to the site.
When a blocked users attempt to login, they will see an error message explaining that their account is locked.
Please keep in mind that if you disable this plugin, then it will also unblock those users.
We hope this article helped you learn how to block an account without deleting the user in WordPress. You may also want to take a look at how to send custom welcome email to new users in WordPress.