Have you ever found a need to reset your WordPress database to default settings? If you have WordPress on a local server or online for testing purposes, you probably found yourself thinking of a way to reinitialize your WordPress database back to its default settings. A lot of folks simply reinstall WordPress, but there is an easier solution.
If you don’t like the video or need more instructions, then continue reading.
Let us introduce you to the plugin WordPress Database Reset. Once you install and activate this plugin, a new option will be added under the Tools section (Tools » Database Reset ).
As you can see in the image above, you can either choose to reset a specific database table, or the entire database to default settings. Once you select the tables you want to reset, you are required to type a randomly generated value into the text box. This is to confirm that you really want to do this. Once you hit the blue Reset Database button, its done.
If you want to reactivate current plugins after the reset, you can select the checkbox. Otherwise uncheck it. When you reset the database, all users will be deleted except for the first user. For example, if your first user was admin, then admin will be created. If the first user was ‘syed’, then syed will be recreated.
Note: This should only be used on test/dev installs. Not really meant for live sites!