WordPress 3.0 is when the big merge happens. The core of WPMU is incorporated in WordPress which means that you can now run multiple blogs from one installation of WordPress. This new feature is being called Network or Multi-site option. By default this feature is disabled. If you want to use this option in your WordPress, then you would have to enable it.